Parliament of the Republic of Namibia Parliament of the Republic of Namibia

The legislative power of Namibia is vested in the Parliament which consists of the National Assembly and the National Council with the power to pass laws with the assent of the President as provided in the Namibian Constitution.

The Parliamentary Standing Committees on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Security and Cabinet Committee on Defence, Security and International Relations (CCDSIR) are bodies which were established to oversee the defence and security issues of the country.

They also have to advise the Cabinet and the National Assembly on matters pertaining to defence and security. By virtue of their mandate, these bodies have oversight functions over the activities of the NDF.

Parliament Parliament